Four receive the Salem Museum’s prestigious James Simpson Award

Submitted photo
Left to right: Burks Logan, Frank Chapman, John Hildebrand and William Robertson.

The Salem Museum and Historical Society recognized four long-time members and volunteers in December 2018.

The four – Frank Chapman, John Hildebrand, Burks Logan and William Robertson – received the James Simpson Award, the highest honor the museum can bestow. Each has volunteered extensively, contributed to every facet of the organization and given of themselves tirelessly and generously.

Frank Chapman has served as president and was active in the fundraising, planning and oversight of the renovation and expansion project completed in 2010. John Hildebrand is a past president and author of several books published through the historical society. Burks Logan and Willie Robertson were also essential to the success of the 2010 expansion. Robertson, also a former president, donned many a costume over the years to portray a number of characters from Salem’s past in the museum’s annual Ghost Walk event.

Named after Salem’s founder, the Award was inaugurated in 1987. Dick Fisher, David Foster, Woody Middleton, Warren Moorman, David Robbins, Lon Savage, Virginia Savage and Peggy Shifflett were honored in previous years.

The James Simpson Award is given for outstanding and unusually meritorious achievement beneficial to the goals, programs and activities of the Salem Museum and Historical Society. The award also recognizes those dedicated individuals who have demonstrated a lifetime of commitment to the cause of local history.


  • Submitted by Frances Ferguson, Salem Museum Executive Director

more recommended stories